“it’s a small, small world” full of Smiles!!

So one of the toughest things about leaving on my holiday was the fact that many of my clients had hearings while I was away that would bring the end of their cases, inshallah. It’s been over the past few days as I’m readjusting to the routine of life here and catching up on my cases my clients are coming in to update me. Every time they’ve come with smiles & hugs & good news. They had their hearings and each one brought good news. Thinking back to the first times I met these amazing ladies and now I see different ladies. I see self-confident ladies where I once saw broken souls, I see leadership developing where there once was pure despair, I hear pure joy in voice where there once was no emotion, I see smiling faces where I once wondered if they could smile and above all I see God’s blessings & work in each of their lives. Are there cases completely over? for most of them not quite yet but that’s not gonna stop us from celebrating the little things. Being back with my clients over the past few days has given a new light to the job, a joy to the challenging work, and a reminder on why we do what we do at the office!

On another note “It’s a small World after all, It’s a small world after all, It’s a small world after all, It’s a small, small world.” has been playing through my head since last night. You see that was when I saw a picture of Victoria Harbour come up on my fb news feed, it had a great few that I didn’t recognise and went to see which Hong Kong friend posted this photo. Only to realise it wasn’t one of my Hong Kong friends at all. It was another friend from way back in my Elkin Wet Lightning and High School Swimming days and she was here in Hong Kong. I had a many ‘freak out’ and commented on her photo. Well, she responded and we were able to meet up tonight for tea and to catch up. Well catch up as much as you can with someone you haven’t seen in person in 10 years (yes that’s right it had been 10 years since we last saw each other). The time together was good and I’m glad I got to see her while she was here as she is flying home tomorrow. Here is our picture below:

Emily & I together for the 1st time in 10+ years

The week has been good so far and is just getting started. You know how often people say they wish they had a vacation to recover from their vacation. Well, in another un-Joy like move, I have scheduled myself one. This weekend (Thursday night-Saturday morning) I and Kathleen will be adventuring to a Christian retreat centre here in Hong Kong for those who are working out of their home cultures. I am very much looking forward to getting away, continuing to meditate on and process a lot that came up over my holiday and the fact that the Island doesn’t have ANY cars is not making this even more exciting at all ;). Well I just gotta make it to Thursday afternoon first. Saturday we are having a Volunteer/Intern acquaintance party at the mission with our ‘sister office’ APMM & the Bethune House’ Volunteers and Intern’s. Sunday is International Working Women’s Day which brings another quite busy Sunday that will me memorable for sure.

Now its off to get some layout done for the Migrant Focus and to finish my own newsletter and get some sleep. Or well better yet….

Leave a comment