‘Happy’ International Women’s Day & Long Live International Solidarity!

Today I joined in with many Migrant Worker Organizations here in Hong Kong to ‘celebrate’ International Women’s Day! Which was actually on March 8th but because most we’re working in their Employer’s house that day the rally was held today. In the grey, rainy weather that is the latest dose of HK erratic weather.

At noon the Indonesian’s started with a rally at their consulate in Causeway Bay before marching down to the Central Government Offices. While at 12:30 the Filipino’s started with a snake rally on Chater Road and a Book Launching before joining with the Thai Regional Alliance, Overseas Nepali Workers Union, and the Association of Sri Lankan’s in Hong Kong marching first to the Philippine Consulate then on to the Central Government Offices.

In between the Philippine Consulate and arriving at the Central Government Offices the two groups combined to form the larger rally calling for changes in the Hong Kong Law and treatment of Migrant Workers (mainly Domestic Helpers). As the groups merged a cheer went up starting with the Indonesian groups and making its way through the Filipino (and other nationality groups). I felt like the energy level suddenly rose a couple more notches as the group merged together.

As we prepared to march and lined up properly Lalay came up and asked me if I was with a group. When I said I was not she handed me a Gabriella sign and asked if I would hold & march at the front. I agreed. As the rest of the group began to get in order I stood at the front of the group in my line thinking about the day we were celebrating. The 101st International Women’s Day. Under my jacket was my purse and in my purse a copy of “Women Resisting Crisis and War” a book I was excited to read. Around me stood migrants from different nationalities speaking a variety of languages and I felt like I was right where i belonged.

As I thought back to my first Sunday in Hong Kong when surrounded my the same groups on the same stretch of road completely scared me. That time was for a cultural show this for a rally & march. Yet, so much has changed since that first Sunday. For me it all began to come together. The conversations at training about advocacy and community-organizing and becoming part of the community to learn from them. The bible verses like Romans 15:7 Welcome one another, just as Christ has welcomed you, to the glory of God where our differences don’t matter because Christ welcomed all of us and ones like James 1:27 where we are called to look after the widows and orphans of society. I thought back to my conversation earlier in the week about ‘new normals’ and realised that standing there was a new normal. Surrounded by people who are some of the strongest and most determined people I know, people who have taught me so much about appreciating the little things, about fighting for what you believe in, and about the importance of grassroots groups. It felt normal to be there with them. Now I want to learn more information and details about the grassroots organising side of life. How how a group works and how life comes together on Sundays.

The slogans we were shouting were not much different then those from previous actions which was good but still sad as it meant things had not changed. “4K is Ok, wage increase now & We are Workers, we are not slaves!” are regular ones we use at our rally’s while the Filipino ones were essentially the same ones we had used on Thursday which mean I didn’t need translation of them but instead could join in right away.

I’m not sure I’m ok actually I know I’m not ok with the fact that these ladies are still fighting for HK$4,000 salary or even a salary that is the same to what they made in 1998 (inflation not considered) and for equal pay for all women in the HK workplace, for the right to find a new employers without being forced to leave in 14 days, for the ratification of the ILO Convention “Domestic Work is Work” and to be treated like humans not slaves. Yet, Im optimistic that someone will listen to our pleas and take action. Will this be this month, this year, or even before I leave Hong Kong? Who knows, I don’t but I remain optimistic that someone will. Take action, make change, and start treating these incredibly strong women like the dedicated, hard-working HUMANS that they are.

In the mean time I”m going to stand with them, join beside them, take chants like “Long Live International Solidarity” to heart, and I’m going to learn as much as I can. Starting Sunday things have officially come together for me to join in with POWER to get involved and learn on the grassroots level, I’m going to keep asking questions and seeking answers, I’m going to keep following my passion, and I’m going to keep praying because i can’t do this without God and pray for the health of all who were out today and continue to fight.

So Migrants United will not be divided & Long Live International Solidarity because We Are Workers, We are Not Slaves!!

Leave a comment