“Its a Small, Small World….or I’m gonna call it God’s timing”

So I’m here on one of the outlying Islands of Hong Kong at a Ministry Centre for those working in Christian Ministry. It’s located on an Island where there are no cars and is about a 20 minute walk onto the island (and up some steep hills) from the ferry pier. Not a place you would expect to meet people with mutual friends, or wait should it be?

Back story: As I was applying for this program/preparing to leave for training I was very open at Salem Chapel about the process. I never quite understood how news about me receiving an interview, getting accepted into the program, being sent to Hong Kong traveled so fast but I never cared. The support and prayers I got from the church were priceless. One of the couples approached me about friends they had who were also involved in a sports ministry here in Hong Kong (primarily swimming) and offered to connect us. I accepted and we had a conversation about how small the world really is. She sent me their e-mail address and phone number

Well fast forward to September–I arrive in Hong Kong and in the craziness of getting adjusted e-mail this family. We exchange e-mails back and forth a few times but nothing ever works out for us to meet up. Then my life gets busy and I figure there life does too and we drop out of touch. I’ve always known should I have an emergency I can write them in the back of my mind but never really think about it.

Fast Forward to last night–Dinner is provided here at the Centre and as we sat down we all introduced ourselves. As we were going around the table sharing about what we do,

one of the ladies looks at me and ask ‘Joy, what’s your last name?’

“Prim.” I replied

“Really, we finally meet.” She said

I had a confused look on my face as I tried to remember who I hadn’t ever met here in Hong Kong that I should of.

I’m (the couple from SC)’s friend.” she said no doubt responding to the confused look on my face

“WOW, this is God’s timing.” I said as everything clicked together

Dinner continued and she shared about our mutual friends. It is great to finally be able to put a face to an e-mail and I hope now that we have at least seen each other we can meet again for conversation. She again said to write or call if I ever need anything and that they will be in touch. One things for sure the fact we were both at the dinner table is nothing short of God’s timing and I pray things work out for us to meet up again but have no doubt it will be God’s timing if and when they do.

So incase you forgot the lyrics to my Disney theme Song of the week “It’s a small World” let me refresh your memory

“it’s a world of laughter, a world or tears
its a world of hopes, its a world of fear
theres so much that we share
that its time we’re aware
its a small world after all

CHORUS:
its a small world after all
its a small world after all
its a small world after all
its a small, small world

There is just one moon and one golden sun
And a smile means friendship to everyone.
Though the mountains divide
And the oceans are wide
It’s a small small world

CHORUS”

Or my new re-written version of the Chorus “It’s God’s World after all/It’s God’s World after all/ It’s God’s World after all/It’s God’s God’s world!”

Prayers: for all my fellow YAMs, for the Swaziland Team from Salem Chapel as they are in Swazi this week, for two mission teams from Pfeiffer getting ready to go to Central America over Spring Break, for my clients, for good health, and warmer weather

Leave a comment