One Billion Rising 2023

10 years ago, along Chater Road I first learned of One Billion Rising and the dance in Tagalog. At the time, it was projected for a 1 time event calling on One Billion women, youth and men to Strike Dance and Rise to end violence against women. My time ended before the big day but dancing became a part of my story. 10 Years later, we are marking the ten year anniversary and I’m back where it all began personally. 

For these past 10 years, I’ve risen every year. Occasionally in small events in USA (except for the first year when we flashmobbed 475 Riverside drives by a flashmob committees) but mainly online with the migrant community in Hong Kong, even after moving here in 2020 small scale hybrid ways mainly online. I’ve learned the dances online through the years and fine tuned some of the moves since moving here. Every year, It is a reminder of no matter the distance we are still connected in community 

Through One Billion Rising, I found a voice to live into my calling a live of solidarity. With roots deep in the migrant community of Hong Kong, every time I’ve danced any of the One Billion Rising dances it’s a reminder of where I said yes to following Jesus to the margins of society and the journey with the communities I met along the way.

Reminded that living in to a calling of ministry rooted in love justice and service isn’t easy but that when you follow Jesus, God makes a way. Just like somehow, I actually remember most of the dances through the years finding a simplance of rymthm. 

Tonight as we ran through all the dances one last time, in preparation for our in person One Billion Rising event next Sunday. I felt the emotions, as we’ve been practicing for weeks but this was different, it was “dress rehearsal” for the actual event that I have dreamed of attending. The memories of those we’ve lost over the last 10 years, memories of communities I’ve visited here in HK, across the USA and the Philippines and all the strong women leaders I’ve met, women who have sacrificed so much for their communities. My heart began to over flow. 

So week and for the future, I rise for the love I have been given by the most courageous women I know.

I rise for migrant workers forced apart from their families so they can survive. Working overseas and still organizing for a better life in their home lands

I rise for the undocumented, DACAmented and non citizen students pursuing an education in the USA who faced much oppression in the pandemic. Organizing not just for their own benefits but with their whole community in mind.

I rise for Lumad communities in Mindanao especially the youth who taught me that the new world, of collective care and peace rooted in justice for all, isn’t just a dream but one they are living each day in their schools. Before the state shuttered them simply for teaching students to read and write and understanding their rights. 

I rise for the Aeta and sugar cane farm worker communities in Tarlac who survive the Us-Philippine war games each year. Living off their land and working to reclaim their lands for themselves. 

I rise for the communities across Negros who face worsening human rights violations, bombings, massacres and attacks. The poor communities who simply want a safe life for their families where their children don’t starve in the Sugar Bowl of the Philippines but are met with attacks and death. 

I rise for mother’s who lost their sons and husbands in the poor against the poor under the Duterte Regime, who courageously took their stories to the International community. Now with a glimmer of hope on the horizon with the resumption of the ICC investigation.

I rise for human rights defenders from across the sectors selflessly working to defend their people’s rights. Educating, organizing and mobilizing speaking truth to power courageously. From Palestine to the Philippines and countries in between .

I rise with the Migrant Women Rise team who put our collective skills together to tell the real stories of the impact of redtagging on Filipino Migrants. Workers In a journey that pushed me to trust in my Tagalog and deepened relationships. 

I rise for Ate Sol, Ate Beth, Zara Alvarez and all the people’s martyrs who we have lost over the past 10 years. Whose dedication to serving the people continue to inspire us today.

I rise because sometimes when we follow Jesus to the margins we find hugs in the small things, hope in the celebrations and building of community in our shared dreams of peace rooted in justice

Leave a comment